BikeHouston Staff

Michael Payne Executive Director  email-icon2grey
voicemail: 832-819-BIKE (2453)

mpayne-headshotMichael has served as Executive Director of BikeHouston since January 2014. He joins the organization with the goal of taking BikeHouston from being a volunteer organization with limited resources to a professionally staffed, self-sustaining bicycle advocacy organization.

Before joining BikeHouston Michael spent 16 years working on sustainable development issues. This was primarily leading large scale wind energy development efforts in Europe, the US and Asia for large energy companies. During this time he gratefully spent 9 years living in the Netherlands, where he enjoyed life cycling under very civilized terms. His vision for Houston is also shaped by time living in Paris, London, Panama and Santiago, Chile, where he experienced Ciclovia in the late 90s.

Michael holds has an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern with concentrations in Finance and Marketing. Prior to grad school Michael lived in Atlanta where he was on the board of the Atlanta Bicycle Coalition and built up a software service company. Michael also has a BA in International Studies from Emory University.

Board of Directors

Regina Garcia Board Chair  email-icon2grey
Kathryn Baumeister  email-icon2grey
Neil Bremner  email-icon2grey
Nicole Caldwell  email-icon2grey
Geoff Carleton  email-icon2grey
Yee-Bien Chuah  email-icon2grey
Tom McCasland  email-icon2grey
James Neff  email-icon2grey
Aaron Regberg  email-icon2grey
Marissa Taler  email-icon2grey


Jeff Bailey
Joel Bloom
John Blum
Tom Compson
Brian Crimmins
David Dick
Rodney Ellis, State Senator, District 13
Doug House
Tom Gall

Bryan Gillespie
Ed Gonzalez, Houston City Council Member, Vice Mayor Pro-tem
Chris Holmes
Mark LeBlanc
Chris Lockwood
Dan Lundeen
Jim Mackey
Clark Martinson
Dan Morgan
John Preston
Alison Reeves
Margaret Shelton
Gail Spann
Paul SoRelle
Ruth SoRelle
Woody Speer
Tecky Surawijaya
Peter Wang
Matt Wurth
Fred Zaplac
bold indicates past board member